Latest News

Kirill GersteinPhoto: Marco Borggreve

Next concerts with Kirill Gerstein in February 2018

February 3rd, 2018

On 16 February, Kirill Gerstein releases The Gershwin Moment on myrios classics featuring the original jazz-band version of Rhapsody in Blue, Piano Concerto in F with David Robertson and the St Louis Symphony Orchestra, plus special guest appearances from singer Storm Large and legendary jazz vibraphonist Gary Burton.

Elsewhere, Kirill spends February travelling around the States, performing with the National Symphony Orchestra in Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2 (1-3 Feb), Boston Symphony Orchestra in Bach’s Triple Concerto with Jean-Yves Thibaudet and Thomas Adès conducted by Andris Nelsons (8-10 Feb), more Rachmaninov with the Colorado Symphony Orchestra (16-18 Feb) and ending with Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5 Emperor with the Indianapolis Symphony (23-24 Feb).
In between, Kirill gives a one-off recital in New York playing works by Bach, Debussy, Chopin, Adès and Schumann on 11 February.

Picture 11

Next concerts with Kirill Gerstein in January 2018

January 6th, 2018

Kirill Gerstein kicks off 2018 with performances with the Rotterdam Philharmonic (5 and 7 January), Houston Symphony (11-13 January) and Pittsburgh Symphony (26 and 28 January). Repertoire includes Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto, Brahms’ First Piano Concerto and Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto.

In between these concerto engagements, Kirill can be heard at the Louisiana Museum in Denmark (18-19 January) and the Spivey Hall in Atlanta (21 January) in recital performances playing works by Bach, Debussy, Schumann, Chopin and Adès.

Kirill GersteinPhoto: Marco Borggreve

Next concerts with Kirill Gerstein in November and December 2017

October 30th, 2017

November sees Kirill Gerstein travelling across the States performing with the Oregon Symphony (4-6 November in Schoenberg and Gershwin), Chicago Symphony (16-18 and 21 November in Brahms and Strauss) and Seattle Symphony Orchestras (30 November-2 December in Rachmaninov). In between, Kirill returns to London for a one-off Wigmore Hall recital on11 November performing works by Bach, Debussy, Adès, Chopin and Schumann.


The run up to the end of the year brings more Rachmaninov with the Bournemouth Symphony (6-7 December), Brahms with the Hamburg Symphony (14 December) and finally the Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto with the Lapland Chamber Orchestra (20-22 December).


Next concerts with Kirill Gerstein in October 2017

October 6th, 2017

Kicking off October at the Schloss Elmau (2 October) for a recital featuring music by Bach, Debussy, Chopin, Adès and Schumann, the rest of the month sees Kirill Gerstein in concerto engagements with the Netherlands Radio Filharmonisch Orkest (6 October) and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra (12 and 14 October), as well as in recital at the Rubinstein Piano Festival in Poland (18 October). From22 October in London, he joins the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra and Harold Blomstedt on tour again, performing in Paris (24 October), Luxembourg (26 October) and Vienna (30 October).


Next concerts with Kirill Gerstein in September 2017

September 7th, 2017

Kirill Gerstein kicks off the new season in Oslo playing Scriabin’s Prometheus over two days with the Oslo Philharmonic under Vasily Petrenko before going into the studio to record the work with the same team. Next up is a tour with RAI Torino under Semyon Bychkov travelling to Milan (14), Verona (16), Turin (17) and Vienna (20) for Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto. In between the tour dates, Kirill travels to the George Enescu Festival for a joint recital with Leonidas Kavakos on 12 September and a solo recital on 15 September.

Kirill GersteinPhoto: Marco Borggreve

Next concerts with Kirill Gerstein in July and August 2017

July 12th, 2017

In addition to concerto engagements with the Chicago Symphony (21 July) and Taipei Symphony (26 August), this summer sees Kirill Gerstein make appearances at the Verbier Festival on 28, 29 and 30 July; Aspen Music Festival on 2 August; Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival on 8 August; and the Mostly Mozart Festival for his debut there on 15 and 16 August. At the end of August, Kirill returns to the BBC Proms in London to perform Rachmaninov’s First Piano Concerto with the BBC Symphony Orchestra under Semyon Bychkov.